Head over heels…

6 Mar

I am head over heels…

In love.

With a count.

Phew!

Let me tell the story from the beginning:

This is the context: France in the 19th century, after the fall of Napoleon. The aristocracy still exists.

My count is one of them though he has bought his title in Tuscany after purchasing that famous isle in the mare nostrum: the isle of Monte Cristo. He is a friend of smugglers, pirates and the Italian banditti. No one really knows where he comes from, though they guess –wrongly- from his accent that he is a native ofMalta.

He not only courts the society of the low people, he is also to be found among the leading families in Parisof the time. He does favours to them. Almost everyone is indebted to him for one thing or another. He is the gentilhomme. His manners are spectacular. The ladies are flattered, though of course he does not flatter them.

Then there is the issue of his wealth. Nothing is too expensive. He gives tips to the stewards and the valets and all others in the form of golden crowns. He is in Rome today,Naples tomorrow,Alexandria at the end of the week, and keeps on. He has a multitude of servants at his beck and call. No one has ever heard of the family with the name he bears. He leaves everyone guessing… and enchanted.

What is he up to? He sure has a mission. The smugglers and the pirates know him as a wealthy English man who travels for pleasure. They have seen his Genoese yatch, and acknowledge its superiority in navigation. The aristocracy is somewhat cynical, though they own that he is a man who seems to come from the other world. Some are enchanted, like Albert Morcèrf, others are more prudent, like his mother and Franz D’Espiny. I don’t know of which band I am. Yet.

***

I am reading The Count of Monte Cristo. The drama hastens with each chapter and the intentions are laid bare at the turn of every page. The heart beats a little faster, at the sight of so many diamonds and bank notes. The vendetta is about to be accomplished. The plans are perfect. But there is something that prevents me from cheering all this drama. Something deep inside . It’s far too deep to tell. Maybe when I finish reading I will know.

Shhh!!! I don’t want to know how it all ends!

(To see what I thought after reading the book, click here.

3 Responses to “Head over heels…”

  1. phui March 8, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    Hey,

    First, nice blog. And different. (in a good way).
    I’ve watched the movie!! and it is unforgettable. At some point, i cried.
    Enjoy! Am sure it makes a nice read.

    • tothebalcony March 15, 2012 at 11:56 am #

      Thanks, I am trying to put together some thoughts now that I have finished the book.
      Keep tuned…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finding… the real Count of Monte Cristo « tothebalcony - April 24, 2012

    […] I made a promise that I would publish something after finishing Alexandre Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo. Many days have passed, as well as many thoughts and conversations… If you would like to see what I thought while I was reading the book, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

