Why read books if you can watch movies?

27 Apr

A friend of mine once asked me this question. At the time, I tried my best to convince her that books are worthwhile to read, but it was obvious that she was not taken in. I am not saying “Don’t watch movies, read books instead” but “Hey, books are really interesting”. Note that I would also say the same thing for movies, only that I am not crazy about movies, but books. They just have me intoxicated, and singing under the influence! Here is one of those songs:

While I was young I fell in love with X. It was the typical love at first sight. The Spanish call it “flechazo de amor” and they are right, it was like a poisoned dart that can’t do anything else other than that for which it was meant for. I don’t know if my dad knows it, but he is the one who introduced me to this chap. “He is really nice, and besides, has loads of interesting stuff to share”, said dad. I checked him out, and I liked what I saw. As time went on, I grew so fond of him that we were seeing each other everyday, we spent many hours together. I treasured those moments. When I think about those hours now, all that comes to mind is the image of being high up in the sky, with my hands stretched out, the wind in my face, and wearing a big smile. Yeah, that’s what it is like to be in love with X.

What did we share? We talked about this and that, other people, their passions, hard times, and their cultures, history, laughter, fantasy, open places, the classics… which made me wiser in a certain sense. Not to mention relaxation and comfort just by being with X. And happier. Definitely.

Translate X for books and you’ve got my reason for reading books. Now I know what to reply to my friend’s question. Hope that you get to discover and fall in love with your X.

Good luck,

From Mary, X’s lover for life!

7 Responses to “Why read books if you can watch movies?”

  1. fopdoodler April 27, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    I am always the one convincing people to read the book first, not watch the movie! Good post 😀

    • mary April 28, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      That makes two of us! Thanks.

  2. Sultan April 27, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    “while you are watching a movie, you have given a picture. so you don’t have to use your brain to imagine the characters and etc. however, while you are reading you use your brain, you imagine, you think and so on.” – i think that is the difference between watching and reading. but i like the both (movies & books)

    • mary April 28, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      I could not have put it better! My exact thoughts! Thanks. By the way, there are only two movies that convinced me to read the book afterwards: The Lord of the Rings and the BBC’s movie: North and South from the book by Elizabeth Gaskell. I loved the movies, and the books far more. Apart from that, I prefer to read the book first.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. janereads April 30, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    Mary, I also watched North and South on the BBC and then went and read the book! The same thing happened with Elizabeth Gaskell’s Wives and Daughters (have you seen that adaptation?). I tend to watch classics onscreen first and then go and read the book. But most of the time I read the book first and then see the movie. Whatever people do, I’m just glad that people are reading. It’s good to see films driving people to the books.

    • mary May 1, 2012 at 9:34 am #

      I have not seen Wives and Daughters, but you can be sure I am going to read the book first! There is so much in books that doesn’t come out in the movies: thoughts, reflections, scheming…. I am glad as you are that anyhow, people read books. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My summer 2012 reading list « tothebalcony - May 13, 2012

    […] Anthony Trollope is one of my favourite authors. After reading The Warden, Barchester Towers and Doctor Thorne, I am dying to know what happened next. (By the way, for those of you who read my post on Why read books if we can watch movies, Barchester Chronicles by BBC is a must see. Psst! It is about 6 hours long!) If you would like to read the post, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

