My summer 2012 reading list

13 May

Summer is round the corner, and in fact, here in Rome it has already arrived, with temperatures of 33 degrees most days! With it, the search for pool-side companions: the books! This is perhaps my summer wish list…

Here are 10 books I am reading soon. Where will the time come from?

1. Cry, the beloved country by Alan Paton

I am an African with a mission: to promote readership of African literature or to put it more loosely, literature by Africans. This was an important book in raising awareness of South Africa, in deed by some it is the most influential South African novel ever written, and that changed the world’s view of this country.

2. Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

I would like to explore how the Inheritance Cycle comes to an end. I think I guess that Eragon will triumph in the end, naturally, but I am dying to know how!

3. A Pillar of Iron by Taylor Caldwell

A historical novel about ancient Rome, I had better read it while I am still around the eternal city. Some of the characters are Julius Caeser and Cicero. I can’t wait to lay my hands on the core of ancient Roman life!

4. Momo by Michael Ende

This was recommended to me by a friend. It is a fantasy book about time and how humans use it in modern societies.

5. Framley parsonage by Anthony Trollope

Anthony Trollope is one of my favourite authors. After reading The Warden, Barchester Towers and Doctor Thorne, I am dying to know what happened next. (By the way, for those of you who read my post on Why read books if we can watch movies, Barchester Chronicles by BBC is a must see. Psst! It is about 6 hours long!) If you would like to read the post, click here.

 

6. The woman in white by Wilkie Collins

A bit of thrill from Wilkie Collins would be most welcome. I remember reading The Moonstone, and I was unable to put it down! My heart has never beat that fast!

 

 

7. Follow your heart by Susanna Tamaro

My attempt to experiment Italian authors, luckily for me I know where to get the book in English. Of course I could read it in Italian, but it would take me longer, and there are so many books to read. Help!!

 

 

8. The lunatic express by Charles Miller

I must own that I really like history; this is a book about the history of East Africa (construction of the East Africa railway, slave trade) when the British are consolidating their power in their new colonies. A history of East Africa is my history, however grim it is.

 

 

9. Arlington park by Rachel Cusk

Old is gold but I must also read recently published material. Arlington park was published in 2007, not too bad for me…

 

 

10.  Any of P.G.Wodehouse that I lay my hands on. I have never been disappointed by any of his books, they leave me reeling with laughter and my sides ache for at least a day!

Has anyone read any of these books? What are you going to read next?

7 Responses to “My summer 2012 reading list”

  1. Cassie May 13, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    I hated The Woman in White, but it might be because I had to read it in school (bleh). And my boyfriend read Inheritance in a day so I think he really loved it, as did his whole family.

    • mary May 14, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Thanks for stopping by and what an avid reader you are!
      Maybe we do not enjoy the things we have to do, like books we have to read. I also read Cry the beloved country while in school and I could not remember a thing about it, but now I am reading it again, it is so good…
      I am sure I will love Inheritance.

  2. phui May 14, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I loved cry the beloved country. For more African writings, try titles by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie from Nigeria.

    • mary May 15, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Thanks a lot, sis!!! I will check Adichie out…

  3. ForTheLoveOfBooks May 26, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I hope you enjoy The Woman In White. I haven’t finished it yet, but it’s a good book! The characters are really great and it has this dark eerie tone to it. Also thank you very much for following my blog :)!

  4. Alison May 27, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    The Woman in White takes a while to get through but it’s enjoyable!

    • mary May 28, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      Thanks Alison, I can’t wait to start!!!

Leave a Reply

