A book for a gift

14 Nov

It has been a long time since I last updated this blog. My sister Phui has kindly called my attention to this fact. Talking of my sister, she has also recently given me a book for a gift, knowing my love for books. Thanks a lot dear sis!

The book is entitled “The devil that danced on the water” by Aminata Forna.

Image

It tells the story of her search for the truth of her father’s fate, Mohamed Forna, who had been told that for Africa “politics and violence are inseparable”. Her father abandoned his medical career to enter into the volatile politics of Sierra Leone in the 1960’s. A brilliant and impeccable man, he became finance minister under Siaka Stevens, the then president.

As I am still reading the book, a complete review is impossible at this point!

But a promise is a promise, a review is coming once I have finished reading. At least I owe that much to my dear sis!

4 Responses to “A book for a gift”

  1. phui November 14, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Waiting for that review…

    • mary November 15, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      Hey! I’ll do my best. Thanks for the gift.:)

  2. Alice November 14, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    hey Mary that book sounds very promising. Eagerly awaiting the review!is this the place to say we miss to hear from you?

    • mary November 15, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      Yes Alice, this is the place. I’ll try not to be a disappointment with the review! Thanks for stopping by. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

