Review: The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

18 Nov

Image

If I could summarize the story of the three musketeers in five words, they would be adventure, valour, power, love and revenge.

Set in the 17th century, it recounts the adventures of a young man, d’Artagnan after he leaves home to travel to Paris, to join the Musketeers of the Guard. He befriends Athos, Porthos and Aramis, who are musketeers.

The book is in a way, historical. At least the circumstances in which the story is told are historical. Cardinal Richelieu controls the politics of France. The king (Louis XIII) would like to get rid of him but canโ€™t. The queen, Anne of Austria, loves another man, the duke of Buckingham and the cardinal is trying to expose her to the king.

But it is not just about love affairs, it is rather how those affairs have the power to influence the fate of nations. Buckingham himself states that is the queen of France were to desire it, he would betray his own country. It is the age of chivalry, when men risked death and worse to get a smile from lady-love.

In case romance is not your cup of tea, breathe easy, the book is much more than that. It is adventure packed where D’Artagnan along with his three friends must unite and defeat a beautiful double agent and her villainous employer from seizing the French throne and engulfing Europe in war.

The three musketeers is a perfect thriller!

7 Responses to “Review: The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas”

  1. jessicabookworm November 19, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    I have The Three Musketeers on my Classics Club list. I’m glad you enjoyed it, I can’t wait to read it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • mary November 19, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      It was definitely a thrill, at some point, I couldn’t put it down! Check out The Count of Monte Cristo by the same author, I would say it is a must read…

      • jessicabookworm November 19, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

        Oh good, I have that on my list too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Claire 'Word by Word' December 12, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    I have vowed to read more of Alexandre Dumas after reading the excellent Black Count by Tom Reiss, which is all about his father General Alex Dumas, a contemporary of Napolean Bonaparte and the man whose life so inspired his young son in his life work. If you get the chance do read it. It is thrilling and all true.

    • mary December 12, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

      Thanks a lot, I will check it out. Have you read the Count of Monte Cristo? I thought it is grander than The Three Musketeers. I was so hooked it was impossible to let down the book!

      • Claire 'Word by Word' December 12, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

        No, I haven’t read it, but this is the book that is most based on the life experiences of his father, I know the story because I have seen the film, but must read it, especially as I live in France, the story of Gen.Alex Dumas is one of the more interesting in France’s history I believe, one that is not very well known at all.

Leave a Reply

